Greece Bulgaria Locator

What is Interreg Greece-Bulgaria

European Territorial Cooperation (ETC), better known as Interreg, is one of the two goals of the EU Cohesion Policy and provides a framework for the implementation of joint actions and policy exchanges between national, regional and local actors from different Member States.

The overarching objective of European Territorial Cooperation (ETC) is to promote a harmonious economic, social and territorial development of the Union as a whole.

Interreg is built around three strands of cooperation:

  1. Cross-border (Interreg A)
  2. Transnational (Interreg B)
  3. Interregional (Interreg C)

Five programming periods of Interreg have succeeded each other from 1990 onwards.

Find out more about… Interreg

The EU Cohesion Policy

The Interreg programmes are financed in the framework of the EU Regional Policy, also referred as Cohesion Policy due to its aim to dissolve regional disparities between Europe’s regions. This investment policy consumes around one third of the EU’s budget. It targets all regions and cities in the European Union in order to support job creation, business competitiveness, economic growth, sustainable development, and improve citizens’ quality of life.

Find out more about… the EU Cohesion Policy 

0 Million €
0 %

Eligible Area


EL511 – Evros
EL512 – Xanthi
EL513 – Rodopi
EL514 – Drama
EL515 – Kavala, Thassos
EL522 – Thessaloniki
EL526 – Serres


BG413 – Blagoevgrad
BG422 – Haskovo
BG424 - Smolyan
BG425 – Kardzhali

Eligible Area

Eligible Area

EL511 – Evros EL512 – Xanthi EL513 – Rodopi EL514 – Drama EL515 – Kavala, Thassos EL522 – Thessaloniki EL526 – Serres


BG413 – Blagoevgrad BG422 – Haskovo BG424 - Smolyan BG425 – Kardzhali

Our Priorities & Objectives

Specific objectives:

RSO2.4. Promoting climate change adaptation and disaster risk prevention, resilience taking into account ecosystem-based approaches

RSO2.6. Promoting the transition to a circular and resource efficient economy

RSO2.7. Enhancing protection and preservation of nature, biodiversity and green infrastructure, including in urban areas, and reducing all forms of pollution

Specific objective: 

RSO3.2. Developing and enhancing sustainable, climate resilient, intelligent and intermodal national, regional and local mobility, including improved access to TEN-T and cross-border mobility

Specific objectives: 

RSO4.2. Improving equal access to inclusive and quality services in education, training and lifelong learning through developing accessible infrastructure, including by fostering resilience for distance and on-line education and training
RSO4.6. Enhancing the role of culture and sustainable tourism in economic development, social inclusion and social innovation

The Programme Bodies



Ministry of Regional Development and Public Works                              
Angelina Todorova-Boneva
Deputy Minister of Regional Development and Public Works - CHAIRPERSON
1. Ministry of Regional Development and Public Works / Directorate “Territorial cooperation management” - National Authority (NA) 
Milen Obretenov
Director of Territorial Cooperation Management & Head of the Bulgarian National Authority
Tsvetomir Tsanev
State Expert in Interreg Programmes Department
2. Council of Ministers Administration 
Apostol Milev
Chief Associate, Directorate Central Coordination Unit
Angel Sirakov
Head of Department, Directorate Central Coordination Unit
3. Ministry of Interior 
Julian Grancharov
Head of Department, Directorate General “Fire Safety and Civil Protection"
Emil Stefanov
Chief Expert, Directorate General “Fire Safety and Civil Protection"
4. Ministry of Transport and Communications
4.1 Directorate "Programme and Project  Coordination"
Velichka Stamenova
Chief Expert
Dimo Dimov
State Expert
4.2 National Company Railroad Infrastructure
eng. Zlatin Krumov
eng. Maria Genova
Deputy Director
5. District Administration - Blagoevgrad
Stoyan Hristov
Krasimira Krumova
Expert "ACRDSO"
6. District Administration - Smolyan
Stefan Sabrutev
Momchil Karaivanov
Director "ACRDSO"
7. District Administration - Kardzhali 
Daniel Delchev
Sabina Sulukchieva
Chief secretary
8. District Administration - Haskovo 
Minko Angelov
Zhelyazko Kolev
Chief Expert
9. Road Infrastructure Agency
eng. Desislava Paunova
Managing Board Member
Nikolina Chapanova
Director of Directorate
10. National Association of Municipalities (NAMRB)
Rumen Pehlivanov
Mayor, Rudozem Municipality;
Dimitar Brachkov
Mayor, Petrich Municipality
11. NGO sector - one voting member on rotation basis
11.1 Business Information and Consulting Centre - Sandanski
Jivko Ivanov
Plamen Todorov
11.2 Harmanli Local Initiative Group
Diana Gocheva
Executive Director
Atanas Dimulski
Expert / Associate
11.3 Business Incubator - Gotse Delchev, Entrepreneurship Promotion Centre
Rositsa Djambazova
Chairman of the Board
Toma Machev
Chairman of the Board


Organisation Member & Substitute Position Email Telephone Address


Organisation Member & Substitute Position Email Telephone Address


JS Coordinator
Ioannis Spandos
Tel: +30 2310 469 689
Project Officers
Kiriaki Antoniadou
Tel:+30 2310 469 692
Jenya Dinkova
Tel: +30 2310 469 693
Galina Georgieva
Tel: +30 2310 469 696
Maria Groueva
Tel:+30 2310 469 694
Periklis Poseidonos
Tel:+30 2310 469 691
Zoi Tselia
Tel:+30 2310 469 668
Financial Officer
Kyriaki Styla
Tel:+30 2310 469 698
Communication & Technical Assistance Officer
Christina Papageorgopoulou
Tel:+30 2310 469 697

Programme’s Financial Data


Programme’s Achieved Indicators

This page presents the common indicators used in the programme under the relevant ESI Fund(s).

Job Vacancies

If you wish to join our team check this section regularly for open job positions.

There is no open vacancy at the moment.

Contact us

For technical questions concerning the calls, the MIS (Management Information System) or the website, please read the FAQ page.

For any other question, you may contact the Joint Secretariat using the following form.